Mexico vs Uruguay: Preview, H2H, Prediction, Team News, Lineups

As we inch closer to the Copa America 2024, excitement is building up with several key warm-up matches, including the highly anticipated clash between Mexico and Uruguay.

This friendly match is set to be a significant test for both teams as they fine-tune their strategies and lineups ahead of the tournament.

Mexico vs Uruguay

When & Where is the Mexico vs Uruguay Match?

The match will be held at the Empower Field at Mile High in Denver, Colorado, on June 5, 2024, with a kickoff time at 9:00 PM ET.

This friendly is part of a series of preparatory games that will help both teams gauge their readiness and make final adjustments.

  • Date: June 5, 2024
  • Time: 9:00 PM ET / 7:00 PM MT / 2:00 AM BST (June 6)
  • Venue: Empower Field at Mile High, Denver, Colorado.

Start Time in Different Countries

  • United Kingdom: 2 AM BST (June 6)
  • Mexico: 8 PM CDT (June 5)
  • Uruguay: 10 PM UYT (June 5)
  • USA (Denver): 7 PM MDT (June 5)

Mexico vs Uruguay Preview: Copa America 2024 Warm-up

With less than three weeks until the Copa America 2024, Mexico and Uruguay are gearing up with crucial warm-up matches. Mexico, coming off a narrow 1-0 victory over Bolivia, will face a sterner test against Uruguay. Meanwhile, Uruguay is looking to bounce back from a goalless draw against Costa Rica.

Mexico vs Uruguay
Image Credit: ESPN

Mexico: Under the guidance of Jaime Lozano, Mexico is determined to build momentum ahead of their Group B matches against Ecuador, Jamaica, and Venezuela.

Despite a mixed run of form, Mexico aims to capitalize on their friendly matches to solidify their squad and tactics.

Uruguay: Led by the tactical genius Marcelo Bielsa, Uruguay enters the match with high ambitions. Their recent performances, including a strong showing in World Cup qualifiers, position them as serious contenders for the Copa America title.

Despite a setback in their friendly against Costa Rica, Uruguay remains confident with key players returning to the lineup.

Mexico vs Uruguay H2H

Historically, Mexico and Uruguay have faced each other multiple times with a balanced record. Out of their 22 encounters:

  • Mexico has won 8 times
  • Uruguay has won 7 times
  • They have drawn 7 times

Recent matches have seen Uruguay with a slight edge, winning three out of the last five encounters​.

Team News

Mexico:

  • In: Jaime Lozano is expected to field a stronger lineup after giving several debutants a chance against Bolivia. Key players like Santiago Gimenez, Edson Alvarez, and Johan Vasquez are set to start.
  • Out: Experienced players such as Jesus Gallardo, Hirving Lozano, and Guillermo Ochoa have not been called up for this match.

Uruguay:

  • In: With Edinson Cavani announcing his international retirement, Darwin Nunez will lead the attack. Other key players include Jose Maria Gimenez, Rodrigo Bentancur, and Manuel Ugarte.
  • Out: Stars like Ronald Araujo, Luis Suarez, and Federico Valverde have been excused from this friendly.

Prediction

Both teams will look to gain confidence and cohesion before the Copa America. Given the attacking prowess on both sides, fans can expect an entertaining match with goals.

Prediction: Mexico 1-2 Uruguay

Possible Lineups

Mexico:

  • Formation: 4-3-3
  • Lineup: Malagon; J. Sanchez, Montes, Vasquez, Arteaga; Chavez, Alvarez, E. Sanchez; Antuna, Gimenez, Vega

Uruguay:

  • Formation: 4-3-3
  • Lineup: Rochet; Nandez, Caceres, Gimenez, Olivera; Bentancur, Ugarte, C. Araujo; Pellistri, Nunez, B. Rodriguez

As Mexico and Uruguay lock horns in this crucial pre-Copa America friendly, both teams will look to fine-tune their strategies and boost their confidence.

With top talents on display, this match promises excitement and insight into what we can expect from these teams in the upcoming tournament.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *